UWA Logo
  Prospective Students | Current Students | Staff | Alumni | Visitors | About    
UWA Home
Official Publications
Scholarships, Prizes, Endowments
Archived versions
Site map
Enhanced Printer Friendly Version Enhanced Printer Friendly Version - Undergradaute scholarships
 Scholarships, Prizes, Endowments
 Scholarships and Fellowships
  Postgraduate scholarships
   C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship * [F7912]

C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship * [F7912]

An asterisk (*) indicates that this scholarship is governed by conditions.

The statutory entity, the Faculty of Business, is known as the UWA Business School.

The C. A. Vargovic Memorial Fund was established under the Will of the late Christopher A. Vargovic for the purpose of providing scholarships to assist students in furthering their postgraduate or honours studies in macroeconomics at The University of Western Australia ('the University'). The C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship is established and administered in accordance with the following conditions.

The scholarship is called the C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship.

The purpose of the scholarship is, in any manner determined by the Dean of the UWA Business School, to assist a student or students to further their postgraduate or honours studies in macroeconomics at the University.

Type of scholarship 
The scholarship may be held—

(a) as a full scholarship, subject to clause 13; or

(b) by postgraduate research students as a supplementary scholarship in conjunction with a University Postgraduate Award or an Australian Postgraduate Award.

Value and number
The Dean of the UWA Business School determines the value and the number of scholarships, if any, to be made each year.

(2) The scholarships are provided from the annual income of the fund after capitalisation in accordance with Senate policy.

Eligibility Requirements
To be eligible to apply for a scholarship, an applicant must—

(a) meet the minimum admission requirements for one of the following—

(i) the Bachelor of Economics (Honours) degree course or the Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree course; or

(ii) the Master of Economics degree course; or

(iii) a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree course.


(b) intend to undertake research in macroeconomics.

(2) To be eligible to take up a scholarship, the recipient must be enrolled on a full-time basis in the course for which the recipient has been awarded the scholarship.

Body responsible for selection
The selection committee for the scholarship comprises:

(a) the Chair of the Economics Discipline Group; and

(b) two other members of the Economics Discipline Group nominated by the Chair of the Economics Discipline Group.

Selection criteria
The scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic achievement and the relevance of the research proposal to macroeconomics.

Selection process
Selection of the recipient is made by the selection committee having regard to the students’ academic records and completed applications.

Awarding body
(1) The scholarship is awarded by the Dean of the UWA Business School on the recommendation of the selection committee.

(2) Scholarships may be awarded in March and August.

Method of Payment
The full scholarship [clause 3(a)] is paid in two equal instalments.

(2) One instalment is normally paid on or following the census date in each of the relevant semesters.

(3) Payment of the second instalment is conditional upon the recipient successfully completing all units undertaken and remaining enrolled in the course for which the scholarship is awarded.

(4) The supplementary scholarship [clause 3(b)] is paid as a fortnightly stipend in conjunction with the Australian Postgraduate Award or University Postgraduate Award.

Duration of award
The scholarship is tenable for two semesters which are normally consecutive.

(2) A student enrolled in the Master of Economics course or for the Doctor of Philosophy who has previously been awarded a C. A. Vargovic Scholarship may be awarded a further scholarship within the same course of study.

Application procedure 
Written applications are called for annually and must be submitted to the Faculty Administrative Officer of the UWA Business School by the advertised closing date.

(2) Written applications must be accompanied by an outline of the proposed programme of study with special emphasis on the research to be undertaken.

(3) For applicants who have undertaken study at a tertiary institution other than the University of Western Australia, a copy of the applicant’s academic record from that institution.

Concurrent awards 
Except in exceptional circumstances to be determined by the Dean of the UWA Business School or unless the scholarship is awarded as a supplementary scholarship, a C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship may not be held concurrently with another scholarship or award.

Administering body
The scholarship is administered by the UWA Business School.

Any thesis, dissertation or other publication resulting from research undertaken by the recipient while in receipt of the C. A. Vargovic Memorial Scholarship must acknowledge the support of the scholarship and carry the University by-line.

Intellectual property
Intellectual property is governed by the University’s Intellectual Property policy available on the University’s website at http://www.universitypolicies.uwa.edu.au/page/117132.

Top of Page